• Congratulations to Professor Richard Clayman, 2016 Part-Time Professor of the Year!
  • Would you like to improve your skills in the classroom? The TLSS offers lectures, workshops and consultations designed to help you innovate in your teaching methods.

End of Semester Social - April 23 at 5:00pm

The Association invites Part-Time Professors to an informal end of semester social!
The event will take place on Thursday, April 23 at Café Nostalgica from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. We will be providing a fixed burrito dinner and good company.
Café Nostalgica is located on 603 Cumberland Street in Ottawa.
 
Space is limited, so please RSVP your attendance by contacting us before Tuesday, April 21.
 
Looking forward to seeing you there!

Resume Workshop & Additional Compensation

Second APTPUO Workshop on Resume Writing


On Wednesday, April 8 the APTPUO is organizing a second workshop on how to write strong resumes. Members are invited to learn about what the University looks for in a resume when hiring part-time professors.
We encourage you to bring your resume and examples of job postings that you would like to apply for since this workshop has the goal of ensuring that these skills can be put into practice.
 
Facilitator: Pascal Sergent, APTPUO Francophone Grievance Officer
 
Wednesday, April 8 at 5:45pm in the Faculty of Social Sciences building (120 University Private), room 4004
 
Bilingual workshop.

 

Additional Compensation - Accommodations and supplemental examinations


The Association and the Employer are in ongoing discussions and negotiations in relation to compensation for accommodation requests and supplementary examinations. The Association's position is that when an APTPUO professor has to create an additional exam for students who missed the regular exam (including mid-term exams) they have the right to be compensated $150 as per Article 5.2.2.1 in the Collective Agreement. When the Student Access Service Center requests that an APTPUO professor provides exam-related accommodations for any student in a course, the Association's position is that this additional work shall be compensated $200 per course upon request as per Article 5.2.2.2.c in the Collective Agreement.
 
Do not forget to file a request with your unit or department as soon as possible to be compensated for any additional work for accommodations. Be sure to 'cc the Association so  that your request for compensation can be included in future settlements with the employer.  
 

Mandatory Online Trainings


At the end of February, members teaching a course this term received an email notification from the Employer regarding mandatory online trainings. The APTPUO has reached an agreement with the Employer that all members who complete all of the mandatory online trainings shall receive $200.00 in recognition of this additional work. The amount will be deposited directly in your bank account within 45 days after the end of the semester during which you completed the training. The training is completed once the tests associated with each of the modules is completed and passed by the professor.
 
Be sure to complete all six trainings, including the Supervisor Health and Safety Awareness Module. The Supervisor training is mandatory because professors supervise students and staff.
 
For more information, please contact the office of the Association or visit the training website.

Those who have already completed all of the training modules will be compensated.
 

Academica Group & HEQCO Ontario Contract/Non-full-time Faculty Survey


This survey is being funded by the Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario (HEQCO) to provide information about the Ontario contract/non-full-time faculty population. If you have taught in a contract/non-full-time capacity in Ontario in the past year (May 2014 to April 2015), then we’d like to hear from you. Your views and experiences are important to us and we hope you will share them in this online survey.

Click here to fill out the survey.

Mandatory online trainings, additional compensation, APTPUO workshop, and other important announcements

APTPUO Office is Now Open on Friday


The APTPUO Office, located in room 124 of the Jock-Turcot University Center is now open on Friday. Members may drop in, call, or email us from Monday to Friday. APTPUO staff are happy to assist with any issues or questions.
 

Mandatory Online Training


At the end of February, members teaching a course this term received an email notification from the Employer regarding mandatory online trainings. The APTPUO has reached an agreement with the Employer that all members who complete all of the mandatory online training shall receive $200.00 in recognition of this additional work. The amount will be deposited directly in your bank account in mid-June 2015. For more information, please contact the office of the Association.

Those who have already completed all of the training modules in the Fall 2014 session will be compensated.

 

General Application - March 31 2015


Remember that the deadline to submit a general application is Tuesday, March 31 2015 in accordance with Article 5.6.4 of the Collective Agreement.

General applications are considered by the University when no qualified candidates have applied for a specific course or when they need to hire a part-time professor at the last-minute. Following the last round of bargaining, the Association successfully negotiated that members who submit a general application before 31 March of each year as per Article 5.6.4, regardless of whether they teach a course, shall continue to maintain their membership status and seniority points.

How to file a general application:

  • choose the "Apply without posting" option on the main postings page (or visit the website);
  • log in;
  • select a session;
  • select the appropriate Faculty and Academic Unit;
  • indicate the number of courses you wish to teach in a session in the box;
  • update your record of employment under Teaching UO and/or Other Teaching tabs;
  • submit your application and C.V.;
  • repeat for every academic unit for which you would like to teach and for each session.

You can also check the box “To submit a general application prior to March 31st, please check this box” under the “Job Postings” tab when submitting a general application before March 31st 2015. This application is considered as a general application. For more information, please visit our website.
 

Additional Compensation - Accommodations and supplemental examinations


The Association and the Employer are in ongoing discussions in relation to accommodation requests and supplementary examinations. For deferred exams, minor details remain to be addressed, but an agreement of the interpretation of Article 5.2.2.1 should be released shortly. The Association will communicate the agreement as soon as possible.
 
In the meantime, do not forget to file a request with your unit or department to be compensated for any additional work for supplementary exams (including midterms) and accommodations.

 

Online Course Evaluations


The Association has commented on the Senate Committee of Teaching’s study and recommendations to change the course evaluation process by moving it from a paper-based to an electronic format. Students would have two weeks to complete the course evaluation online and would continue to have the allocated 20 minute in-class time to complete it on their electronic devices.

View the letter here.

 

uOttawa President Search Committee


In December, the Association sought out the opinions of members on what part-time professors are looking for in their next University President. We received quite a few responses and have since sent a letter to the University’s search committee. APTPUO members believe that the University of Ottawa needs a President who is an active scholar and who reflects the diversity of our campus and membership.

View the letter here.
 

APTPUO's Union Council


Over the course of this academic year, the APTPUO has put into action a Union Council. This Council is made up of part-time professors that have the additional role of being department representatives. We are happy to report that this Council has provided us with the opportunity to engage with members directly and to ensure that we are up-to-date on issues that affect part-time professors within specific departments.

Part-time professors are not represented at the Faculty level, the Senate level, or at the Board of Governors – the highest decision-making body of the University. Because our members teach about half of all courses at the undergraduate level, the Association advocates for the inclusion of part-time professors in university decision-making bodies.

 

Interunion Meetings


Each month, representatives from the APTPUO meet with representatives of other campus unions (students, full-time faculty, support staff, TA’s, RA’s, and IT staff). Over the past weeks, we have been working on providing a collective response to the changes of the University Policy 67A and Procedure 36 on discrimination and harassment. We have built relationships with other unions to be able to provide the University with strong and united feedback on policies that affect our members.

To view the policy and procedure as they currently exist, please visit: http://www.uottawa.ca/about/reglement-67a-prevention-du-harcelement-discrimination and http://www.uottawa.ca/about/procedure-36-2-complaints-harassmentdiscrimination-initiated-employees.

One of the major changes that are being brought forward by the University is to have this policy and procedure affect everyone on campus, not just students. If you have any feedback, please contact us by March 23 2015.

 

CAUT - Sign a Pledge of Solidarity


The Canadian Association of University Teachers’ ongoing campaign to defend contract and precarious academic employment is seeking petition signatures. To sign the pledge of solidarity and support contract workers in Canada and the United States, or to learn more about the campaign and issues, please visit the CAUT website.
 

CUPE 3903 & CUPE 3902 on Strike


Members of CUPE 3903’s two units representing graduate assistants, teaching assistants, and research assistants remain on strike at York University while members of CUPE 3903’s contract faculty accepted a deal. In other parts of the city, members of CUPE 3902’s graduate student teaching assistants and research assistants at the University of Toronto have been on strike for over a week and the University has shown no interest in returning to the bargaining table. CUPE 3902 Unit 3, representing contract instructors have voted to ratify a three year Collective Agreement.

Contract professors at the University of Toronto and York University experience similar issues to our membership: precarious employment, large class sizes, low wages, and lack of job security. As tenure opportunities diminish, and contract professors become a form of cheap labour, Universities are increasingly relying on keeping our members precarious and our working conditions difficult via an increase in austerity policies.

For news about CUPE 3902, you can visit www.cupe3902.org, or follow them on twitter @CUPE3902 or via #WeAreUofT.

For news about CUPE 3903, you can visit www.cupe3903.org, or follow them on twitter @CUPE3903 or via #ABetterYork.

APTPUO Workshop on Resume Writing

Next Wednesday, the APTPUO is organizing a workshop on how to write strong resumes. Members are invited to learn about what the University looks for in a resume when hiring part-time professors.
We encourage you to bring your resume and examples of job postings that you would like to apply for since this workshop has the goal of ensuring that these skills can be put into practice.

Facilitator: Pascal Sergent, APTPUO Francophone Grievance Officer

Wednesday, March 18 at 5:30pm in the Faculty of Social Sciences building (120 University Private), room 5028

Bilingual workshop.

We hope to see you there!

The APTPUO stands in solidarity with our colleagues in Quebec

The Association of Part-Time Professors of the University of Ottawa (APTPUO), a union representing 1,800 contract professors who teach about half of all undergraduate courses at the University of Ottawa, express our solidarity with all professors in Quebec who are facing an unacceptable regime of austerity.

Under Philippe Couillard’s Liberal Government, University and Cégep professors are facing cuts to courses, a reduction in salaries particularly targeted at the most precarious professors, an increase in tasks without additional compensation, and an elimination of privileges and social benefits. With these austerity policies, it is clear that learning institutions are no longer a priority for this Quebec government. It is a problem that affects professors in Quebec as well as professors across the country. We will not accept a culture in which cuts to education become the norm.

Cuts to programs and courses in Quebec are not only a Quebecois affair. The current assault on post-secondary education is part of a larger ideology aiming to reduce the importance of the public sector as well as to reduce the role of the state in society. The effects of the cuts on the quality of education are undeniable. A good number of APTPUO members who also teach in Quebec are directly affected by these policies of austerity.

Austerity policies have not demonstrated their efficiency or their utility in countries that practice them. They are solely ideological decisions. It is a question of priority and now is the time that we need to prioritize and invest in public education, and not privatization.

It is for those reasons that we stand in solidarity with our colleagues in Quebec during these difficult times. We will not accept cuts to education, we will refuse the politics of austerity. The struggle for high-quality, public education continues!

To learn more, please visit the websites of our colleagues at the FNEEQ and the CSN: http://refusons.org/

In solidarity,

The Association of Part-Time Professors of the University of Ottawa

• Félicitations au Professeur Richard Clayman, Professeur à temps partiel de l'année 2016!
  • Désirez-vous améliorer vos compétences en salle de classe? Le SAEA offre des conférences, ateliers et consultations qui vous permettront d'innover dans vos stratégies d'enseignement.

5 à 7 de fin de session - 23 avril à 17h00

L'Association invite les professeur.e.s à temps partiel à un 5-à-7 informel de fin de session!
L'événement aura lieu le jeudi 23 avril au Café Nostalgica de 17h00 à 19h00. Nous fournirons un souper de burrito en bonne compagnie.
Le Café Nostalgica est situé au 603, rue Cumberland, à Ottawa.
 
Les places sont limitées, donc RSVP
en nous contactant avant le mardi 21 avril.
 
Au plaisir de vous voir!

Atelier sur la rédaction de CV & Compensations additionnelles

Deuxième atelier sur la rédaction de CV


Mercredi le 8 avril, l’APTPUO organise un deuxième atelier sur la rédaction d’un CV performant. Les membres sont invités à assister pour apprendre de ce que l’Université recherche dans un curriculum vitae lors de l’embauche pour les contrats de professeur à temps partiel.

Vous êtes encouragés à apporter votre CV ainsi que des affichages de postes sur lesquels vous souhaitez postuler car cet atelier a pour objectif d'être orienté avant tout sur la pratique.

Animateur: Pascal Sergent, Agent de grief francophone APTPUO

Le mercredi, 8 avril à 17h45 à l’édifice de la Faculté des sciences sociales (120 rue Université privée), salle 4004.

Atelier bilingue.

Nous espérons vous voir!

 

Compensation additionnelle - Accommodements et examens supplémentaires
 

L’Association et l’Université poursuivent les discussions et les négociations en lien avec les compensations pour les demandes d’accommodement et pour les examens supplémentaires. Relativement aux examens supplémentaires, l’Association croit qu’un.e professeur.e qui crée un examen supplémentaire pour les étudiant.e.s qui manquent l’examen régulier (incluant les examens de mi-session) ont droit de recevoir une compensation de 150$, tel que prévu à l’article 5.2.2.1. Dans le cas des demandes d’accommodements, l’Association croit que, lorsque le Service d’accès demande qu’un.e professeur.e accommode un.e étudiant.e pour un examen, ce travail supplémentaire doit être compensé de 200$ par cours sous réserve d’une demande formulée par le/la professeur.e à l’unité scolaire, tel que prévu à l’article 5.2.2.2.
 
N’oubliez pas de soumettre une demande à votre unité dès que possible pour recevoir toute compensation liée aux demandes d’accommodement. Veuillez mettre l’Association en CC
pour vous assurer que vos demandes soient incluses dans les ententes à venir avec l’Université à ce sujet.

 

Formations en ligne obligatoire


À la fin février 2015, les membres enseignant durant la session Hiver 2015 ont reçu un avis de l’Université par courriel relatif aux formations obligatoires. L’Association a conclu une entente avec l’Université pour que les membres qui complètent tous les modules de formation reçoivent 200$ pour ce travail supplémentaire. Ce montant sera déposé directement dans votre compte dans les 45 jours suivant la fin de la session au cours de laquelle les formations ont été complétées. Les formations sont considérées comme complétées lorsque le test lié à chacun des modules est complété et réussi par le/la professeur.e.
 
Assurez-vous de compléter toutes les six formations, incluant la formation pour superviseurs. Au sens de la loi, comme vous supervisez des étudiant.e.s et des employé.e.s (AE, correcteurs et correctrices, etc.), vous êtes superviseur.e.
 
Pour plus d’information,
contactez le bureau de l’Association ou visitez la page web des formations.
 
Celles et ceux qui ont déjà complété ces formations seront compensé.e.s.

 

Academica Group & COQES Enquête auprès des membres contractuels/non à temps plein du corps professoral de l'Ontario


Cette enquête est financée par le Conseil ontarien de la qualité de l’enseignement supérieur (COQES) dans le but de recueillir de l’information sur les membres contractuels/non à temps plein du corps professoral de l’Ontario. Si vous avez enseigné à contrat et non à temps plein en Ontario au cours de la dernière année (de mai 2014 à avril 2015), nous vous donnons la parole. Vos points de vue et vos expériences sont importants pour nous et nous espérons que vous nous en ferez part dans le cadre de cette enquête en ligne.

Pour répondre à la requête, veuillez cliquez ici.

 

Formations en ligne obligatoire, compensation additionnelle, atelier de l'APTPUO, et autres annonces importantes

Le bureau de l'APTPUO est maintenant ouvert vendredi


Le bureau de l’APTPUO, situé dans la salle 124 du Centre universitaire Jock-Turcot, est maintenant ouvert le vendredi. Comme membres, vous pouvez nous visiter, nous appeler, ou nous envoyer un courriel du lundi au vendredi. Les employé.e.s seront content.e.s de vous aider ou de répondre à vos questions.
 

Formations en ligne obligatoire


Vers la fin du mois de février, les membres qui enseignent au cours de cette session ont reçu un courriel de l’Université concernant les formations en ligne obligatoires. L’APTPUO a finalisée une entente avec l’Université en vertu de laquelle chaque membre qui complète les formations obligatoires recevra une compensation de 200 $ pour ce travail additionnel. Le versement monétaire sera déposé directement dans votre compte bancaire au plus tard à la mi-juin 2015. Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter le bureau de l’Association.

Celles et ceux qui ont déjà complété les formations lors de la session d’automne 2014 seront également compensé.e.s.

 

Demandes générales


La date limite pour soumettre une demande générale selon l’article 5.6.4 de la Convention collective est le mardi 31 mars 2015.

Les demandes générales sont considérées par l’Université lorsqu’il n’y a pas de candidats qualifiés qui ont postulé pour un cours spécifique ou quand l’Université doit faire un embauche d’un professeur à temps partiel à la dernière minute. Suite à la dernière ronde de négociations, l'Association a négocié avec succès que les membres qui soumettent une demande générale avant le 31 mars de chaque année, conformément à l'article 5.6.4, indépendamment du fait qu'ils enseignent un cours, peuvent continuer à maintenir leur statut de membre et leurs points d’ancienneté en vertu de l’article 5.8.5 (Période de service interrompue).

Pour soumettre une demande générale dans une unité scolaire ou un département :

  • sélectionnez l’option « Demande sans affichage » sur la page principale des demandes (ou visitez le Site web);
  • identifiez-vous;
  • sélectionnez une session;
  • sélectionnez la faculté et l'unité scolaire appropriées;
  • indiquez le nombre de cours que vous souhaitez enseigner dans une session dans la case appropriée;
  • mettez à jour votre dossier d'emploi dans l'onglet Enseignement UO et/ou Autres enseignements;
  • soumettez votre demande et votre résumé;
  • répétez l’opération pour chacune des unités dans lesquelles vous désirez enseigner.

Vous pouvez également cocher la case « Veuillez cocher cette boîte s'il s'agit d'une demande générale avant le 31 mars » sous l’onglet « Affichages » lorsque vous postulez pour un cours spécifique avant le 31 mars 2015. Cette demande comptera comme une demande générale.
Pour plus d’information,
veuillez visitez notre Site web.

 

Compensation additionnelle - Accommodements et examens supplémentaires
 

L’Association et l’Université sont en discussion continue en lien avec les demandes d’accommodements et les examens supplémentaires. Pour ce qui est des examens supplémentaires, des détails mineurs doivent toujours être réglés, mais une entente sur l’interprétation de l’article 5.2.2.1 devrait être signée sous peu. L’Association va communiquer l’entente aux membres dès que possible.

Pour le moment, n’oubliez pas de faire une demande de compensation à votre unité ou département pour tout travail additionnel lié aux examens supplémentaires (incluant les examens de mi-session) et aux accommodements.

 

Évaluations de cours en ligne


L’Association a envoyé ces commentaires au Comité du Sénat sur l’enseignement pour l’étude et recommandations afin de changer la structure des évaluations de cours d’un processus en papier à un format électronique. Les étudiants auront deux semaines pour compléter l’évaluation en ligne et continueront d’avoir les 20 minutes allouées durant le cours pour la compléter sur leurs appareils électroniques.

Voir le contenu de la lettre ici.

 

Comité de sélection du nouveau recteur uOttawa


En décembre, l'Association a demandé l'opinion des membres sur ce que les professeurs à temps partiel recherchent chez le prochain recteur de l'Université. Nous avons reçu quelques réponses et avons envoyé une lettre au comité de recherche de l'Université. Les membres de l’APTPUO croient que l’Université d’Ottawa a besoin d’un recteur qui est un membre actif de la communauté universitaire et qui reflète la diversité de notre campus et de nos membres.

Voir le contenu de la lettre ici.

 

Conseil syndical de l'APTPUO


Au cours de la présente année, l’APTPUO a mis en place un Conseil syndical. Ce conseil est formé de professeurs à temps partiel qui ont la responsabilité additionnelle d’être représentant de leurs départements. Le conseil nous donne l’opportunité de communiquer directement avec nos membres et que l’exécutif de l’Association soit informé des enjeux spécifiques des professeurs à temps partiel dans leur travail quotidien dans les unités ou départements.

Les professeurs à temps partiel ne sont pas représentés au niveau des facultés, ni au sénat, ni au Bureau des gouverneurs – la plus haute instance décisionnelle de l’université. Depuis que nos membres enseignent environ la moitié de tous les cours au premier cycle, l’Association lutte pour la participation des professeurs à temps partiel dans chaque instance décisionnelle à l’Université.


 

Réunions de l'intersyndical


À chaque mois, les représentants de l’APTPUO se réunissent avec les représentants des autres syndicats sur le campus (étudiants, professeurs à temps plein, employés de support, assistants d’enseignement, assistants de recherche, et employés dans le domaine de la technologie). Au cours des dernières semaines, nous avons travaillé sur une réponse collective aux changements de la politique et de la procédure en matière de discrimination et de harcèlement. En collaboration avec d'autres syndicats nous fournirons une réponse forte et unie sur les politiques qui touchent nos membres à l’Université.

Pour avoir accès à la politique et la procédure courante, veuillez visiter :
http://www.uottawa.ca/enbref/reglement-67a-prevention-du-harcelement-et-de-la-discrimination et http://www.uottawa.ca/enbref/methode-36-2-plaintes-de-harcelement-ou-de-discrimination-deposees-par-des-membres-du-personnel.

Un des changements majeurs proposés par l’Université est que les politiques et procédures touchent tout le monde sur le campus, et non seulement les étudiant.e.s. Si vous avez des commentaires,
veuillez nous contacter par le 23 mars 2015.

 

ACPPU - Signez la déclaration de solidarité


La campagne continue de l’Association canadienne des professeures et professeur d’université pour défendre les employé.e.s précaires et contractuel.le.s fait circuler une pétition et souhaitent recueillir des signatures supplémentaires. Pour signer la déclaration de solidarité et soutenir les employé.e.s contractuel.le.s au Canada et aux États-Unis, ou pour vous informer de la campagne et des enjeux, visitez le site web de l’ACPPU.
 

SCFP 3903 & SCFP 3902 en grève


Les membres des deux unités qui représentent les assistant.e.s d’enseignement et de recherche du SCFP 3903 poursuivent leur grève à l’Université York, tandis que les membres du corps professoral contractuel du SCFP 3903 ont accepté une entente. Toujours à Toronto, les membres du SCFP 3902 qui représentent les assistant.e.s d’enseignement et de recherche à l’Université de Toronto sont en grève depuis plus d’une semaine, et leur université ne montre pas de signe d’un retour prochain à la table de négociation. Unité 3 du SCFP 3902, les professeur.e.s contractuel.le.s ont voté pour ratifier une convention collective de trois ans.

Les professeurs contractuels à l’Université de Toronto et l’Université York connaissent des problèmes similaires à nous: emploi précaire, classes de grande taille, salaires inférieurs et sécurité d'emploi déficiente. Comme les possibilités de titularisation diminuent, et les professeurs contractuels deviennent une forme de travail moins cher, les universités cherchent à maintenir la précarité pour nos membres et à garder nos conditions de travail difficiles en poursuivant des politiques d'austérité.

Pour des nouvelles du SCFP 3902, vous pouvez visiter
www.cupe3902.org, ou les suivre sur twitter @CUPE3902 ou via #WeAreUofT.

Pour des nouvelles du SCFP 3903, vous pouvez visitez
www.cupe3903.org, ou les suivre sur twitter @CUPE3903 ou via #ABetterYork.

Atelier sur la rédaction de CV de l’APTPUO

Mercredi prochain, l’APTPUO organise un atelier sur la rédaction d’un CV performant. Les membres sont invités à assister pour apprendre de ce que l’Université recherche dans un curriculum vitae lors de l’embauche pour les contrats de professeur à temps partiel.
Vous êtes encouragés à apporter votre CV ainsi que des affichages de postes sur lequels vous souhaitez postuler car cet atelier a pour objectif d'être orienté avant tout sur la pratique.
 
Animateur: Pascal Sergent, Agent de grief francophone APTPUO
 
Le mercredi, 18 mars à 17h30 à l’édifice de la Faculté des sciences sociales (120 rue Université privée), salle 5028
 
Atelier bilingue.
 
Nous espérons de vous voir!

L’APTPUO en solidarité avec les collègues au Québec

L’Association des professeur.e.s à temps partiel de l’Université d’Ottawa (APTPUO), un syndicat qui regroupe plus de 1800 professeur.e.s contractuel.le.s qui enseignent environ cinquante pour cent des cours à l’Université d’Ottawa, aimerait exprimer par cette lettre sa solidarité avec les enseignant.e.s du Québec qui font face à un régime d’austérité inacceptable.

 

Sous le gouvernement Libéral de Philippe Couillard, les enseignant.e.s dans les Universités et les Cégeps font face à des coupures de cours, à des diminutions de salaires particulièrement pour les enseignants les plus précaires, à une augmentation des tâches sans compensations additionnelles, et à une élimination de privilèges et avantages sociaux. Sous ces politiques d’austérité, il est certain que les institutions d’apprentissage ne sont plus une priorité pour le gouvernement québécois. C’est un problème qui touche aussi bien les enseignant.e.s au Québec que les professeur.e.s d’un peu partout au pays. Nous n’accepterons pas que les coupures en éducation deviennent la norme.

 

Les coupures de cours et de programmes au Québec ne sont pas une affaire québécoise seulement, les coupures font partie d’une idéologie plus large qui a pour but de réduire l’importance du secteur public et du rôle de l’État, y compris dans le domaine de l’éducation. Les effets des coupures sur la qualité de l’éducation sont indéniables. Une bonne partie des membres de l’APTPUO enseignent également au Québec et seront directement touchés par ces politiques d’austérité.

 

La politique d’austérité n’a pas démontré son efficacité et son utilité dans les pays qui l’ont pratiquée. Il s’agit d’une décision purement idéologique. C’est une question de priorité, et c’est maintenant le temps de donner la priorité à l’éducation et non pas à la privatisation.

 

Pour ces raisons, nous tenons à exprimer notre solidarité la plus sincère avec nos collègues du Québec en ces temps difficiles. Nous n’acceptons pas les coupures en éducation, nous refusons les politiques d’austérité. La lutte pour une éducation de qualité continue!

 

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez visiter les pages de nos collègues à la FNEEQ et la CSN : http://refusons.org/

 

En toute solidarité,


L’Association des professeur.e.s à temps partiel de l’Université d’Ottawa